Can you think of any rules for 8 ball not mentioned in the video, and can you explain more details regarding the shots that are fouls? I thought this video explained things pretty well, except that it didn't mention anything about losing by scratching while on the 8 ball. It just said that you lose if you scratch at the same time of making the 8 ball (should've said in the same shot, not the same time). Also, I was wondering, is it a foul (ball in hand) if you make the ball you called, but another ball that you didn't call also goes in? What about if you kiss a ball in the process of making a ball you called but you didn't call the kiss, is that a foul (ball in hand)? Yes, it is a foul when you pocket one of your balls into the wrong pocket (ball in hand), but is the ball also spotted? The video didn't mention anything about having to spot one of your balls that went in AFTER you scratch, in the same shot (it can stay in the pocket if it went in BEFORE you scratched, in the same shot). Are there any other rules that you can think of that the video didn't mention? Here's a good video showing some of the shots that are considered fouls... Would that shot at 3:22 have been legal if he hadn't followed the cue stick on thru the position where the cue ball was (if he had pulled back on the cue stick after making initial contact with the cue ball, before, or just as the cue ball made contact with the object ball)? Would that be legal?


I'll attempt to answer each of your questions... -If you don't hit the 8-ball in and scratch, it is simply a foul, not a loss of game. You only forfeit if you hit the 8-ball in AND scratch, or hit the 8-ball into the wrong pocket. -Keep in mind that the standard rules don't require you to call the pocket for any ball other than the 8-ball. If extra balls go in, then lucky you. However, if you ARE playing called shots, you must call EVERYTHING you are planning to do. If a ball goes into the wrong pocket or extra balls go in, it is a foul. -Again, the standard rules do not require you to call shots for anything but the 8-ball. If you are playing called shots, you'll want to clarify with your opponent beforehand how strict they want to be on it. Are you just calling pockets, or are you calling literally every kiss, carom, and combo of the ball? Clarify with them first. -Any balls that are potted during a foul, regardless of the foul type, are re-spotted on the ball spot, or as close to it as possible. (Exception: Any of your opponents' balls stay in!) -It doesn't matter what order the balls enter the pockets. If you hit one of your balls in then scratch, or scratch and then one of your balls go in, it is the same result. Any of your balls that go in on the same shot as a scratch must be re-spotted on the ball spot, or as close to it as possible. (Exception: Any of your opponents' balls stay in!) -Yes, the shot at 3:22 would have been legal if he had simply tapped the cue ball quickly. The only reason it was illegal was because he followed through, causing the cue ball to bounce off the object ball back into the cue, which then hit it a 2nd time. It's almost too fast to notice, but you can tell the difference because the cue ball followed the object ball down the table. Basic physics should tell you that if the hit were legal, the cue ball would have stopped after hitting the object ball. -One of the main rules the video doesn't mention is that you must always hit one of your balls first (it alludes to this, but doesn't outright say it). For example, you can't hit one of your opponent's balls first into one of your own balls to pocket them. The first ball you contact must be one of your own balls. Whatever happens after that doesn't really matter, unless you're calling shots. -Another rule not mentioned is the proper execution of a safety. If you don't plan on hitting any balls in, you can't just lightly tap the ball into a corner without doing anything. The rules state that 2 things must happen on every shot. First, you must contact a legal ball. Second, ANY ball must contact a rail (the cue ball counts). Note you can't do this in the opposite order (contact a rail with the cue ball then hit a ball - you must contact a ball THEN hit a rail). If these 2 things do not occur, the safety attempt is a foul, and your opponent gets ball in hand. -You should also keep in mind that the video explains the official, worldwide rules. If you were to go into a bar, you may find they play a little differently, mainly due to the fact that they are usually "pay tables", and you can't take balls back out. For example, any balls that go in, stay in, because you can't get them back out without paying again. Also, anytime the cue ball is hit into a pocket, bar rules usually state that you can only put the ball back into play behind the head string (as if you were breaking), and not anywhere on the table. Why this is a thing, I have no idea.