Why does Australia own part of Antarctica?



Australia's claims to Antarctica started with a claim to Enderby Land by the British in 1841 and this claim was transferred to Australia in 1933. Mawson's Australian Antarctic Expedition of 1911-1914 claimed a big chunk of what is now Australian Antarctic Territory and the BANZARE expedition, also under Mawson, in 1929-1930 reinforced the claims. Australia's claims are recognised by the UK, New Zealand, France and Norway but under the Antarctic Treaty, all claims are in abeyance. Australia issues stamps for the Australian Antarctic Territory, maintains three permanent bases and various temporary bases there, and it is managed by the Australian Antarctic Division, part of the Federal Government.


No one owns Antarctica. Who owns Antarctica? Antarctic territorial claims: Chilean, British, Argentine, Norwegian, Australian, French, New Zealand National claims to Antarctic Territory (Map: Australian Antarctic Data Centre) Antarctica is governed internationally through the Antarctic Treaty system. The Antarctic Treaty was signed in 1959 by the 12 countries whose scientists had been active in and around Antarctica at the time. The negotiation of the Treaty stemmed from the very successful 1957–58 International Geophysical Year. http://www.antarctica.gov.au/about-antarctica/people-in-antarctica/who-owns-antarctica


They looked to there future. Seen that they would need a place to set up resettlement camps for illegals invading there shores. At a time in the future.


It does?




Why does ANYBODY OWN a part of Antarctica. The last Great untamed wilderness.


Good question.