If servers partner continually moves during serve and distract the receiver, what is the call?



"Rule 26. HINDRANCE If a player is hindered in playing a point by a deliberate act of the opponent(s), the player shall win the point. However, the point shall be replayed if a player in hindered in playing the point by either an unintentional act of the opponent(s), or something outside the player's own control (not including a permanent fixture). ..... Case 5: In doubles, where are the server's partner and receiver's partner allowed to stand? Decision: The server's partner and the receiver's partner may take any position on their own side of the net, inside or outside the court. However, if a player is creating a hindrance to the opponent(s), the hindrance rule should be used." - ITF Rules of Tennis Chuck's comment: A key word, above, is *deliberate.* It should be fairly obvious whether or not the server's partner is intentionally doing things to hinder the receiver. Strangely enough, the ITF has NOT banned singles players from making repetitive, obnoxious, loud noises at contact with the ball.


I’ll call your mother


INCOMPETENCE on the part of the receiver. There is no SANE reason to even look at the person you say is creating the distraction.

Michael E

The call is to focus on the serve, and then hit it to where the partner isn't (because they were out of position trying to distract you.)


There is no call.